How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida
6 steps to becoming a real estate agent in Florida.
To become a real estate agent in Florida you must be 18 years old, have a high school diploma, and submit to fingerprinting. You also must complete 63 hours of pre-licensing education and pass the Florida real estate exam.
Real estate is risky. It is risky because it is expensive and because it makes up a significant portion of our net worth. To ensure fairness in the industry, states have long required those working as real estate agents to hold a license.
The process to get a license is different in each state. Generally, the education requirements in Florida are on the lower end. This means that with some proper planning, you can get your license and start selling faster in Florida than in some other states.
If you are a high school graduate with no issues on your legal history, you are ready to become a real estate agent in Florida. Here are the steps:
Step 1: Register For a Pre-Licensing Course
Florida requires you to complete a 63-hour, pre-licensing sales associate course.
As an initial step you should find an available course and register.
The course costs about $300 and is offered by a number of approved real estate schools in the state. You can find a full list of course options on the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation website.
Step 2: File License Application
Complete the application on the Florida DBPR website. You will need to provide personal information such as a social security number and current address.
This application includes a $83.75 fee.
Step 3: Background Check
Florida law requires all real estate license candidates to submit fingerprints to the DBPR. This allows the state to perform background checks. DBPR provides the procedures for fingerprinting online.
Step 4: Complete Education Requirement
The course covers the following topics:
Federal and State Housing Laws
Titles, Deeds and Ownership Restriction
The last course section also includes a 100-question exam on the topics covered.
Step 5: Pass the Exam
The Florida real estate exam is 3.5 hours in length and covers the following the subjects:
The real estate market
Land or site valuation
Sales comparison approach
Reconciliation of value indications
Uniform standards of professional appraisal
The exam costs $36.75 and you must receive a 75% score or above to pass.
Step 6: Activate License
Upon passage of the state real estate exam, your license will be automatically issued within 7 to 10 business days.
To activate your new license, you will need to find a sponsoring broker. This broker will complete form #RE 11 and submit it to DBPR.
Now you know how to become a real estate agent in Florida. For more details, check out the Florida real estate license requirements page or the Florida real estate exam page.
Source: realtyna.com "How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida" by Tait Militana
April 30, 2019